With temperatures climbing and rain absent from the forecast for weeks at a time, many Indiana cities and towns are issuing burn bans as a precaution. Burn bans can be implemented by either a city, town or county’s legislative body or the local fire chief. The local fire chief or local municipality that orders or imposes a burn ban is responsible for determining what activities will be permitted or restricted, who will enforce the ban, and how long the restrictions will last.
State law allows local ordinances to prohibit the use of fireworks on any day of the year with the exception of the following times:
- June 29-July 9: 5pm – two hours after sunset
- July 4: 10am to midnight
The use of fireworks is not included in burn bans issued by local governments.
Other restrictions in Indiana’s fireworks laws:
- Only individuals 18 years of age or older can purchase fireworks. A person 18 years of age or older must accompany anyone younger than 18 who is using or in possession of fireworks. Violation would be a class C infraction.
- The use of fireworks is only permitted on a user’s property, the property of someone who granted permission for fireworks to be discharged, or a place designated by the Indiana State Fire Marshal for the use of fireworks. Violation would be a class C infraction.
- Reckless use of fireworks that results in property damage can be charged as a class A misdemeanor and raised to a class D felony if a person is injured.