Uncategorized Calling all young authors!

Calling all young authors!

Senator Lanane joins essay winner Megan Moran and her parents prior to the Statehood Day ceremony at the Statehouse.

The Indiana Statehouse Tour Office is once again sponsoring an essay competition in conjunction with “Indiana Statehood Day,” a celebration of Indiana’s 194th birthday. Winners will be honored at the Statehood Day Celebration taking place on Friday, December 10, 2010, from 12:00 to 1:00 P.M. EST, at the Indiana Statehouse.

The topic of the essay should convey what living in the state of Indiana means to the student and what makes them proud to be a Hoosier.

The competition is open to any Indiana 4th grade public, private or home school student. Essays must be at least 100 words and no longer than 400 words, handwritten or typed. The  student, teacher, and school name, along with the an address and telephone number must be included in each essay. The school name should be on every essay if essays are sent from an entire class.

Essays must be received or postmarked October 25, 2010.

Check out last year’s Statehood Day celebration here!

Essays may be  sent to:

Jennifer Hodge, Coordinator, State Capitol Tour Office,

200 W. Washington St. Room 220

Indiana Statehouse,

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204.

For more information on the contest, call 317-233-9830.

• Judges will choose first, second, and third place winners.

• Winners will be notified on or before November 24, 2010.